Loops alternatives

10 Best Loops.so Alternatives for 2026 (Priced at 5,000 Contacts)

Loops (loops.so) is a well-made email tool for SaaS, and most people reading this are not leaving because it is bad. They are leaving because it stores every contact in the United States with no EU option, because the bill climbs with subscriber count whether or not those subscribers hear from you, or because they want the lifecycle sequences drafted rather than built from a blank canvas. These 10 alternatives cover all three. Every price on this page comes from each vendor's own pricing page, at the same scenario: 5,000 subscribed contacts sending 25,000 emails a month, on monthly billing wherever a vendor offers a choice. Start with the table, then read the entries for the tools that fit, including the paragraph in each one about who it does not suit.

Every price on this page is as of September 22, 2026, from the vendor's own pricing page.

Quick comparison

Scroll to compare

Starting price, the monthly bill at 5,000 contacts sending 25,000 emails a month, free plan or trial, and best fit, for each tool on this page
ToolStarting priceAt 5,000 contactsFree plan or trialBest for
SendHeronOur pick€19/mo (Starter, 10,000 contacts)€19/mo (Starter covers 10,000 contacts and 50,000 emails a month)7-day free trial, 1,000 contacts and 5,000 sends, card at checkouta drafted lifecycle suite, with contact data in the EU
Customer.io logoCustomer.io$100/mo (Essentials, billed monthly)$100/mo (Essentials, 5,000 profiles, 1 million emails included)No free plan; a startup program gives a year free to companies that have raised under $10Mcross-channel messaging with push, in-app and SMS
Userlist logoUserlist$149/mo (Basic, billed monthly, up to 10,000 users)$149/mo (Basic starts at 10,000 users, so 5,000 pays the same)14-day free trial, card details taken upfrontB2B SaaS that messages accounts, not just users
Bento logoBento$29/mo (Marketing Platform, up to 5,000 active users)$29/mo (5,000 active users, unlimited marketing sends)30-day free trial; no free plana flat $29 with a CRM built in
Resend logoResendFree to 3,000 emails a month; Pro $20/mo; marketing free to 1,000 contacts$60/mo (Pro at 50,000 emails, $20, plus Pro marketing at 5,000 contacts, $40)Free tier: 3,000 emails a month and 1,000 marketing contactsdevelopers who compose every email in code
PlunkFree to 1,000 emails a month; then $0.001 per email, no base fee$25/mo (25,000 emails at $0.001 each; contacts are free)Free plan: 1,000 emails a month with Plunk branding; self-hosting is freeself-hosting, or the lowest per-email price
SequenzyFree to 2,500 emails a month; paid from $19/mo at 15,000 emails$29/mo (30,000 emails; the volume steps are 15,000 then 30,000)Free plan to 2,500 emails a month, with a Sequenzy watermarkbig lists that send little mail
MailerLite logoMailerLiteFree to 250 subscribers; Comfort from $12/mo, Power from $25/mo$49/mo (Comfort, 5,000 subscribers) or $69/mo (Power, unlimited emails)Free plan to 250 subscribers; 14-day trial of the paid featurescreators who want landing pages and paid newsletters
Brevo logoBrevoFree plan; Starter from €7/mo at 5,000 emails€35/mo (Starter at 30,000 emails; the slider has no 25,000 step, and automation needs Standard)Free plan, no cardSMS and WhatsApp on the same bill
MailchimpFree under 250 contacts; Essentials from $13/mo, Standard from $20/mo$100/mo (Standard, 2,501 to 5,000 contacts; Essentials is $75)Free plan under 250 contacts; 14-day trial of Standardnewsletter teams that want the biggest template and integration catalogue

All prices come from each vendor's public pricing page, on monthly billing. The scenario is 5,000 subscribed contacts sending 25,000 emails a month; a vendor that prices on emails rather than contacts is shown at the step that covers that volume.

What is Loops?

Loops is an email platform built for SaaS teams, sold with the line "one platform for every email": marketing campaigns, lifecycle automations (which Loops calls loops) and transactional messages from one product and one contact list. It is operated by Astrodon Corporation in the United States, and its customer page lists Framer, Linear, Perplexity and Clerk among the teams sending through it.

The product is genuinely pleasant. The editor works from reusable components and a single theme for colours, type and spacing; contacts and events come in over an API and an npm package; and the integrations list covers the tools a modern SaaS stack already runs (Stripe, Supabase, Clerk, PostHog, Segment, Auth0, Zapier and Make among them). Deliverability basics are handled, with bounce suppression, complaint handling and SPF, DKIM and DMARC set up per domain. Loops also ships tooling for AI agents, including a CLI and an MCP server, positioned at a developer installing the SDK and drafting campaigns.

What people outgrow is not the product but its two fixed choices: contact-based pricing, and US hosting. If neither bothers you, Loops is a reasonable place to stay. If either does, read on.

Loops pricing explained

Loops prices on subscribed contacts. Its own FAQ is precise about this: a subscribed contact is an email address marked as subscribed, unsubscribed contacts do not count toward pricing, and every plan lets you upload as many contacts as you like. Paid plans do not charge for team seats and do not charge for sends, so the number of subscribed contacts is the whole bill.

The free plan is free for up to 1,000 subscribed contacts, with a cap of 4,000 total emails in any rolling 30-day window, marketing and transactional counted together, a rate limit of 10 emails a second, and a small "Powered by Loops" footer on every email. All features are included. It is a real free tier, and for a product with a few hundred users it is enough.

Paid plans are one tier, Growth, priced by a slider. $49 a month at 5,000 subscribed contacts, $99 at 10,000, $149 at 15,000, $199 at 25,000, $249 at 50,000, $399 at 100,000, $599 at 150,000, $799 at 200,000, $1,199 at 300,000 and $1,999 at 500,000, with custom pricing above 1.5 million. Paid plans have unlimited sends at up to 1,000 emails a second, no Loops branding, and transactional email included at no extra charge.

Two things to price in before you compare. First, the slider steps are wide, so a list that grows past a step is billed at the next one whether it is 5,001 contacts or 9,999. Second, the price is the same however little you send: a 25,000-contact list that mails once a quarter pays the same $199 a month as one that mails daily. That is the trade Loops makes for unlimited sends, and it is the right trade for some teams and the wrong one for others, which is most of what separates the tools below.

Free
$0
1,000 subscribed contacts, 4,000 sends in any rolling 30 days, 10 emails a second, Loops footer
Growth
$49/mo
5,000 subscribed contacts, unlimited sends
Growth
$99/mo
10,000 subscribed contacts
Growth
$149/mo
15,000 subscribed contacts
Growth
$199/mo
25,000 subscribed contacts
Growth
$249/mo
50,000 subscribed contacts
Growth
$399/mo
100,000 subscribed contacts
Growth
$799/mo
200,000 subscribed contacts
Custom
Contact Loops
Above 1.5 million subscribers

Per subscribed contact in slider steps; unlimited sends, free team seats and transactional included on paid plans.

1. Best for a drafted lifecycle suite, with contact data in the EU: SendHeron

SendHeronOur pick

The sequences drafted from your website, every contact stored in Germany, and a flat price per contact tier.

SendHeron is the closest like-for-like replacement for Loops if the reason you are leaving is where the data lives or how much work a lifecycle suite is to build. It is an EU company, contact data is stored in Germany, and the sub-processor list is published on the GDPR page rather than in a policy PDF. Starter is €19 a month for up to 10,000 subscribed contacts and 50,000 emails a month, Growth is €49 for 40,000 contacts and 150,000 emails, Scale is €99 for 100,000 and 250,000, and Max is €179 for 200,000 and 500,000. Every feature is on every tier.

The part no other tool on this page does is the setup. You paste your website URL, SendHeron proposes the tags and events your product should emit, and then drafts a lifecycle suite in your brand voice: welcome, trial, win-back, cancel-save, with real triggers, delays and branches. Everything it produces is a draft. No sequence activates and nothing sends until you open it, read it and switch it on yourself, one sequence at a time. If your site cannot be read, a short description of the product works instead.

Where Loops still wins: unlimited sends on paid plans, where SendHeron gives you a pooled monthly allowance; a free tier to 1,000 contacts, where SendHeron has a 7-day trial; a bigger brand and a longer integrations list; and push, SMS and in-app, which neither tool has but Loops's agent tooling and CLI are ahead of anything SendHeron ships today. If you send very heavily to a small list, run the numbers on the allowance before you move.

Who SendHeron suits, and who it does not

SendHeron fits the SaaS team whose lifecycle email has never been properly built, and the team that has to answer "where is my customer data" to a European buyer. In the first case the setup drafts the suite and the visual sequence builder is where you edit it: triggers, delays and conditions that branch on tags or contact properties with AND and OR rules. In the second, the answer is Germany, an EU legal entity, and a DPA on request. Founders running several products get a workspace per product under one subscription, with unsubscribes kept per project and hard bounces suppressed across the account.

It is the wrong tool in three cases. It is not an agency tool: roles are account-wide, there are no per-workspace member permissions and so no client login. It has no push, SMS or in-app channel, so if Customer.io's cross-channel journeys are what you actually need, read that entry instead. And it does not sell above 200,000 contacts yet, so a list that is already past that has to look at Loops, Customer.io or Mailchimp.

The Loops limit you are escaping

Hosting, first. Loops's privacy policy says data is transferred to and processed in the United States, with Standard Contractual Clauses as the transfer mechanism; there is no EU option to switch on. SendHeron's answer is structural rather than contractual: an EU company, with contact data stored in Germany. The residency page says what can be proven and what cannot, in one table.

Second, the blank canvas. Loops gives you an excellent editor and an empty workspace; the lifecycle logic is yours to design. SendHeron starts from your website and hands you a drafted suite with the tag schema your developer has to wire, plus the snippets to do it. That is a different amount of work in the first week, and it is the difference most switchers notice first.

What migrating from Loops actually involves

Export your subscribed contacts from Loops's Audience page, then upsert each one over the API with the tags your sequences trigger on; the Node SDK wraps the calls and the API reference states the rate limits to pace against. Load your unsubscribes as suppressions before you send anything, so nobody who opted out of Loops's mail hears from you by accident.

Templates paste in as HTML, and you can keep editing them as HTML or rebuild them in the block builder. Your loops themselves have to be rebuilt, because Loops and SendHeron model branching differently; the setup drafts a starting suite from your website and we help you map the old flows onto it during onboarding. Run both tools in parallel for the length of the trial, with new signups going into SendHeron and Loops draining down.

Starting price
€19/mo (Starter, 10,000 contacts and 50,000 emails a month)
Billed on
Subscribed contacts, with a pooled monthly send allowance; unsubscribed and bounced contacts stored free
Free plan or trial
7-day free trial, 1,000 contacts and 5,000 sends, card at checkout
Standout
The AI setup drafts a lifecycle suite from your website URL; a person activates each sequence

2. Best for cross-channel messaging with push, in-app and SMS: Customer.io

Customer.io logoCustomer.io

The enterprise-grade option: every channel, a visual workflow builder and a choice of US or EU data center, from $100 a month.

Customer.io is what you buy when email is one channel among several. Essentials starts at $100 a month, billed monthly, for 5,000 profiles, and that price includes 1 million emails a month, unlimited push and in-app messages, WhatsApp and LINE, a visual workflow builder, an AI agent with core execution skills, unlimited API calls and an MCP server. Premium starts at $1,000 a month billed yearly with custom volumes, ten object types and premium support; Enterprise is quoted.

The profile is the unit of billing, and it counts objects as well as people. Extra profiles are $0.009 each and extra emails $0.12 per 1,000 above the plan. There is no free plan, but a startup program gives companies that have raised under $10M a full year free, which for an early SaaS is a real offer rather than a marketing line.

For a Loops user the decisive fact is the data center row: US or EU, chosen at signup, on every plan. If EU residency is the reason you are leaving Loops and you also want push or SMS, Customer.io is the only tool on this page that has both. It is also two to three times the price of most of the others at 5,000 contacts, and the product is sized for a team, not a founder.

Who Customer.io suits, and who it does not

Customer.io suits the company with a growth or lifecycle team of its own, a mobile app that needs push, and a support function that will use in-app messaging. At that size the $100 floor is a rounding error and the depth (objects, segments over nested data, ad audience sync, reverse ETL on Premium) is the point.

It does not suit a two-person SaaS whose whole requirement is a welcome sequence and a win-back. You would be paying for channels you do not run and learning a data model built for objects and relationships you do not have. Loops itself, SendHeron or Bento cover that job at a fifth of the price.

The Loops limit you are escaping

The channel ceiling. Loops is email and only email; there is no push, no SMS and no in-app. If your product has a mobile app or an in-product surface you want to message on, Loops cannot follow you there and Customer.io can, from the same workflow.

The residency question, as a menu item. Loops has no EU option; Customer.io lists US or EU data centers on every plan. That makes it the second tool on this page that can answer a European buyer's data question with a location rather than a contract clause.

What migrating from Loops actually involves

Profiles come in over Customer.io's API or a CDP integration, and the event schema is the real work: Customer.io is built around events and attributes, so map what Loops was sending as contact properties onto Customer.io attributes and what it was sending as events onto Customer.io events before you import anything.

Budget for the team, not the tool. The workflow builder is deep, and the reason most Customer.io migrations take weeks is deciding who owns each campaign, not moving the data. Use the startup program if you qualify; it removes the price question for a year.

Starting price
$100/mo (Essentials, 5,000 profiles, billed monthly)
Billed on
Profiles, people and objects; $0.009 per extra profile, $0.12 per extra 1,000 emails
Free plan or trial
No free plan; a year free through the startup program if you have raised under $10M
Standout
Email, push, in-app, SMS and WhatsApp from one workflow, with US or EU data centers on every plan

3. Best for B2B SaaS that messages accounts, not just users: Userlist

Userlist logoUserlist

Company accounts, in-app messages and SaaS-shaped workflows, from $149 a month at a 10,000-user floor.

Userlist is built for one kind of customer, B2B SaaS, and it shows in the data model: users belong to companies, companies have their own profiles, segments and activity feeds, and a campaign can be triggered by something the account did rather than something one user did. Basic is $149 a month billed monthly for up to 10,000 users, with $10 a month per further 1,000 users, 500,000 emails a month, segments, broadcasts, visual workflows, transactional email and 5 seats. Professional is $349 with $12 per further 1,000, and adds A/B split testing, conversion goals, advanced workflow features and 10 seats. Annual billing saves 20 percent.

The floor is the thing to notice. The slider starts at 10,000 users, so a 5,000-user account pays the 10,000 price; at the reference scenario Userlist is the most expensive tool on this page after Customer.io, and it is not close. It also asks for card details upfront for the 14-day trial.

What that buys is the account-level thinking nothing else here does well: onboarding a team rather than a person, notifying your own staff when an account goes quiet, and in-app messages that come from the same workflows as the email. If your product is sold to companies with several seats each, that is worth pricing.

Who Userlist suits, and who it does not

Userlist suits B2B SaaS with team accounts, a customer success function, and a list that is already at or near 10,000 users, where the floor stops being a penalty. Its servers are in the United States, per its privacy policy, so it is not an answer to the residency question.

It does not suit a consumer or prosumer product with individual users, or any product under a few thousand users, where you would be paying $149 for capacity you do not fill. Bento, SendHeron or MailerLite cover a solo-user product for a fraction of it.

The Loops limit you are escaping

The per-person data model. Loops knows about contacts and their properties; it has no first-class notion of a company that several contacts belong to. If your lifecycle logic keeps needing "when the account does X" rather than "when this user does X", you are working against Loops's model and with Userlist's.

In-app messages. Loops is email only; Userlist can put a message inside your product from the same workflow, which for activation campaigns is often the channel that actually works.

What migrating from Loops actually involves

Users and companies come in over Userlist's HTTP API and its client libraries, or through a CDP. Plan the company relationships before you import: the point of moving is the account model, and importing users without their companies recreates Loops with a higher bill.

Rebuild workflows against events. Userlist's triggers are event and property driven, so map each Loops trigger to a Userlist event first. Use the roadmapping session that comes with a new Basic account; it is the fastest way through the model.

Starting price
$149/mo (Basic, up to 10,000 users, billed monthly)
Billed on
Users, $10 per further 1,000 on Basic; the slider starts at 10,000
Free plan or trial
14-day free trial, card details upfront
Standout
Company accounts and in-app messages in the same workflows as email

4. Best for a flat $29 with a CRM built in: Bento

Bento logoBento

Marketing, CRM, automation and forms for $29 a month up to 5,000 active users, with transactional as a cheap add-on.

Bento is the price anchor of this list. The Marketing Platform is $29 a month for up to 5,000 active users, and it includes unlimited marketing sends on paid plans, automations, team seats, segmentation, a CRM, forms and popups, deliverability help and reports. Above 5,000 it is $0.01 per active user to 50,000, then $0.009 to 250,000 and $0.008 beyond. Transactional email is a separate, usage-priced product: the first 100 emails free, then $5 a month up to 12,500 emails and $0.09 per 1,000 after that. Bento Chat, a shared inbox with live chat and SMS, is $30 a month on top.

The unit is the active user, defined as a subscribed user or anyone with an event in the last 30 days, and Bento's own comparison table makes the point it wants you to notice: inactive contacts do not raise the bill. There is no free plan, by design (the pricing page has a section titled "why no free plans?"), but there is a 30-day trial with no charge during it.

Bento is a product of Backpack Internet Pty Ltd, an Australian company, and its pricing page does not say where data is hosted, so it is not an answer to the EU question. It is an answer to the price question, and it comes with a founder who offers price-match reviews against your current invoice.

Who Bento suits, and who it does not

Bento suits the small SaaS or creator business that wants marketing email and a light CRM in one place and does not want to think about the bill again for a long time. At $29 for 5,000 active users, it is cheaper than Loops from the first paid step, and it stays cheaper up the curve.

It does not suit a buyer with a residency requirement (hosting is not stated), and its transactional product is metered separately, so a SaaS that sends a lot of receipts and resets pays two lines. It also has no in-app or push channel.

The Loops limit you are escaping

The price at every step. Loops is $49 at 5,000 subscribers and $99 at 10,000; Bento is $29 at 5,000 and roughly $79 at 10,000 on its published per-user rate. The gap widens as the list grows, and Bento's active-user definition means a dormant chunk of your list does not count at all.

The missing CRM. Loops is an email tool with contacts; Bento adds a CRM, forms, popups and a chat inbox, so a small team can run its whole customer communication from one login rather than three.

What migrating from Loops actually involves

Bento lists migration help on its pricing page, and for a Loops list that is the route to take: export subscribed contacts and tags, hand them over, and let the team import them. Suppress your unsubscribes first.

Rebuild the loops as Bento flows, and take the 30 days seriously: it is the longest trial on this page and long enough to run a real welcome sequence end to end before you commit.

Starting price
$29/mo (Marketing Platform, up to 5,000 active users)
Billed on
Active users, meaning subscribed or active in the last 30 days; $0.01 each from 5,001
Free plan or trial
30-day free trial; no free plan by design
Standout
The lowest flat price at 5,000 contacts on this page, with a CRM and forms included

5. Best for developers who compose every email in code: Resend

Resend logoResend

The API developers like most, free to 3,000 emails and 1,000 contacts, and the one place SendHeron loses on price.

Resend is a transactional email API first and a marketing tool second, and it is honest about that split in its pricing. Transactional: free for 3,000 emails a month at 100 a day, Pro at $20 a month for 50,000 emails or $35 for 100,000, Scale from $90 for 100,000 up to $1,150 for 2.5 million, with $0.90 per extra 1,000 emails. Marketing: free up to 1,000 contacts, then Pro marketing at $40 a month for 5,000 contacts, $80 for 10,000, $120 for 15,000, $180 for 25,000 and $250 for 50,000, with unlimited broadcasts. Every paid tier includes 10,000 automation runs a month, then $0.0015 a run. Billing is monthly only.

At the reference scenario that is two subscriptions, $20 plus $40, so $60 a month. Below 1,000 contacts both halves are free, which is where Resend beats every other tool on this page including SendHeron, and we say so on our pricing page too.

The residency answer is specific: Resend offers an EU sending region, and its own documentation says region selection controls where mail is sent from and does not control where customer data is stored, which is the United States regardless of region. If the question is where your contacts live, that is the answer.

Who Resend suits, and who it does not

Resend suits the developer-led product where every email is rendered by your own code and the marketing side is a handful of broadcasts a year. The SDKs, the docs and the developer experience are the best in the category, and under 1,000 contacts nothing here is cheaper.

It does not suit a team that wants lifecycle sequences with branching designed in a visual builder, or a team whose customer data has to stay in the EU. Automations exist and are metered per run; they are not the centre of the product the way they are for Loops, SendHeron or Customer.io.

The Loops limit you are escaping

Nothing on price under 1,000 contacts, and not much on the developer side: Resend is the tool most Loops users would have picked if they had wanted an API rather than a product. What you escape is contact-based pricing for transactional mail. Loops folds transactional into a contact price; Resend charges by email, so a product that sends many receipts to few people pays less.

What you do not escape is US data storage, and you give up the email editor and the loops themselves in exchange for an API. Be clear about which of those you are buying before you move.

What migrating from Loops actually involves

Contacts import over the API into an audience, and templates become code (React Email, or your own HTML). Broadcasts replace campaigns; automations replace loops, with the run count in mind. The transactional side is the easy part and usually takes an afternoon with the SDK.

Keep the marketing free tier in mind as a stepping stone: under 1,000 contacts it costs nothing to run Resend beside Loops for a month and see whether the loss of the visual builder matters to you.

Starting price
$20/mo (Pro, 50,000 emails); marketing free to 1,000 contacts, then $40 at 5,000
Billed on
API emails sent, plus contacts for the marketing product; monthly billing only
Free plan or trial
Free: 3,000 emails a month and 1,000 marketing contacts
Standout
The best developer experience in the category, and the cheapest option below 1,000 contacts

6. Best for self-hosting, or the lowest per-email price: Plunk

Plunk

Open source under AGPL-3.0, $0.001 an email with unlimited contacts on the hosted version, and EU-hosted.

Plunk is the open-source entry. The code is AGPL-3.0 licensed and deploys with Docker Compose, so self-hosting is free and gives you full data ownership with no per-email cost. The hosted version is free for 1,000 emails a month with Plunk branding, then $0.001 an email with no base fee, no branding, unlimited contacts and a monthly spend cap you set yourself. There are no feature tiers: transactional email over API and SMTP, campaign broadcasts, event-triggered automations with delays, conditions and branching, segmentation, custom domains with DKIM, SPF and DMARC set up for you, and analytics are on every plan.

At the reference scenario that is 25,000 emails at a tenth of a cent, so $25 a month, and a 100,000-contact list that mails once a month costs the same as a 5,000-contact list that mails twenty times. Plunk's site describes the hosted service as EU-hosted and GDPR compliant, which puts it in the short list of tools on this page that can answer the residency question.

Who Plunk suits, and who it does not

Plunk suits the developer or indie SaaS that wants the lowest possible per-email price and is comfortable with a younger, smaller product, and the team that wants to run its own instance for the data ownership. If your list is large and your sending is light, per-email pricing is the model that fits you, and Plunk has the cheapest rate on this page.

It does not suit a marketing team that wants a rich visual editor, a mature template gallery, or vendor support with an SLA; you are trading those for price and openness. And self-hosting means you own deliverability, upgrades and uptime, which is real work.

The Loops limit you are escaping

Contact-based pricing entirely. Loops charges for subscribed contacts and gives you unlimited sends; Plunk charges for sends and gives you unlimited contacts. For a product with a big, quiet list, the inversion cuts the bill by an order of magnitude.

Vendor lock, if you self-host. The hosted product still depends on Plunk, but the AGPL code means the day you want the data and the sending under your own roof, you can have it.

What migrating from Loops actually involves

Contacts import over Plunk's REST API or its Node and Python SDKs; templates paste in as HTML. Rebuild loops as Plunk automations, which have the same triggers, delays and conditions shape, so the mapping is direct.

If you self-host, the migration is a deployment before it is a content move: stand up the instance, set up the sending domain and DNS, warm it, and only then bring the list across. Set a spend cap on the hosted plan before you send your first campaign.

Starting price
$0.001 per email, no base fee; free to 1,000 emails a month
Billed on
Emails sent; contacts unlimited
Free plan or trial
Free plan to 1,000 emails a month with branding; self-hosting free under AGPL-3.0
Standout
Open source, EU-hosted, and the lowest per-email rate on this page

7. Best for big lists that send little mail: Sequenzy

Sequenzy

Pay for emails sent and nothing else: free to 2,500 a month, $19 at 15,000, with unlimited contacts, automations and a transactional API on every plan.

Sequenzy is built around one pricing argument, printed at the top of its pricing page: pay for emails sent, nothing else. The free plan covers 2,500 emails a month with every feature and a Sequenzy watermark. Paid volume steps are $19 a month at 15,000 emails, $29 at 30,000, $49 at 60,000, $99 at 120,000 and $199 at 300,000, with Enterprise quoted above that. Contacts, sending domains, lists, segments and team members are unlimited on every plan, and an SMS and MMS add-on is $16 a month with 1,000 credits and a US or Canada toll-free number.

The feature table is long, 148 capabilities by its own count: a visual automation builder with event, tag, list and inactivity triggers, a transactional REST API with templates and attachments, campaigns with send-time optimisation and A/B tests, reply tracking with a team inbox, revenue attribution against Stripe, Paddle and Lemon Squeezy, Shopify and WooCommerce automations, AI-drafted sequences, and an MCP server and CLI for agents. Dedicated IP pools are on paid plans.

The legal entity is a Delaware LLC and neither the pricing page nor the privacy policy names a hosting region, so it is not an answer to the residency question. It is an answer to the "my list is big and quiet" question, and at 30,000 emails for $29 it is one of the cheapest on this page.

Who Sequenzy suits, and who it does not

Sequenzy suits the bootstrapped SaaS with a large list, a light sending schedule and a payment provider it wants automations to key off. The attribution against Stripe and the founder-run support are what its testimonials talk about, and the free plan is a real way to try it.

It does not suit a team that needs a stated data location, or one that sends heavily: at 300,000 emails a month it is $199, which is where contact-priced tools start to win back. It is also a small company, which some buyers count as a risk and some as a feature.

The Loops limit you are escaping

The subscriber count. Loops's bill rises with every subscribed contact whether you mail them or not; Sequenzy's rises only with what you send. A 25,000-contact list that mails monthly pays $199 on Loops and $29 on Sequenzy for the same month of email.

The single-channel ceiling, a little: Sequenzy's SMS add-on exists, though only with a North American number, and Loops has no SMS at all.

What migrating from Loops actually involves

Contacts come in over the API, the CLI or a CSV; Sequenzy's own testimonials describe agents scripting the sync from another provider through its MCP server, which is a fair description of how a developer would do it. Load your unsubscribes first.

Rebuild loops in the automation builder, whose trigger set (events, tags, lists, inactivity) is a superset of what you are leaving, and connect Stripe before you build anything payment-driven, because that integration is the reason to be here.

Starting price
$19/mo at 15,000 emails; free to 2,500 emails a month
Billed on
Emails sent per month, in volume steps; contacts, domains and seats unlimited
Free plan or trial
Free plan to 2,500 emails a month, with a watermark
Standout
Unlimited contacts on every plan, with revenue attribution against Stripe, Paddle and Lemon Squeezy

8. Best for creators who want landing pages and paid newsletters: MailerLite

MailerLite logoMailerLite

Every feature on every paid plan, EU data storage, and $49 at 5,000 subscribers on Comfort or $69 on Power with unlimited emails.

MailerLite is a general email marketing platform with a SaaS-friendly price list. The free plan covers 250 subscribers, 2,500 emails a month, 3 automations and 2 seats. On monthly billing, Comfort is $12 a month at 500 subscribers, $33 at 2,500, $49 at 5,000 and $89 at 10,000, with emails capped at ten times the subscriber count, 50 automations and 3 seats. Power is $25 at 500, $49 at 2,500, $69 at 5,000 and $129 at 10,000, with unlimited emails, seats and automations and multiple automation triggers. Yearly billing takes 10 percent off, and there is a 14-day trial of the paid features.

What you get beyond email is the reason to pick it over the SaaS-specific tools: unlimited websites and landing pages on Power, signup forms and popups, digital products, bookings, paid newsletters and recurring subscriptions, plus an MCP integration for Claude and ChatGPT that is listed on the free plan. Transactional email is a separate product, MailerSend, with its own pricing.

The pricing page's FAQ states that data is stored in the European Union and that the company is ISO 27001 certified, which makes MailerLite one of the few tools on this page that can answer the residency question directly.

Who MailerLite suits, and who it does not

MailerLite suits the founder or creator whose SaaS has a content side: a newsletter, a course, a landing page for every launch. If half your email is a newsletter and half is lifecycle, Power at $69 for 5,000 subscribers with unlimited sends is a strong price for both.

It does not suit a product whose lifecycle logic is event-heavy and API-driven. The automation builder is capable but general-purpose, transactional mail is a different product, and there is no notion of a company account. SendHeron, Loops or Customer.io fit that shape better.

The Loops limit you are escaping

Residency, again: MailerLite stores data in the EU where Loops does not. And the send cap on Comfort is the thing to compare honestly against Loops's unlimited sends: at 5,000 subscribers Comfort allows 50,000 emails a month, and if you need more, Power removes the cap for $20 more.

The feature gap runs the other way too. Loops has nothing like landing pages, paid newsletters or digital products; if those are on your roadmap, MailerLite has them today.

What migrating from Loops actually involves

Import subscribers by CSV or API, with groups standing in for Loops's tags, and rebuild loops in the automation builder. Power's multiple triggers matter here: a Loops loop with several entry points becomes one MailerLite automation rather than several.

Decide on transactional before you move. If your product sends receipts and resets through Loops today, they need a home, and MailerSend is a second account with a second bill.

Starting price
$12/mo (Comfort, 500 subscribers); Power from $25/mo
Billed on
Subscribers; Comfort caps emails at ten times the count, Power is unlimited
Free plan or trial
Free plan to 250 subscribers; 14-day trial of paid features
Standout
Landing pages, forms, paid newsletters and digital products beside the email, with EU data storage

9. Best for SMS and WhatsApp on the same bill: Brevo

Brevo logoBrevo

A multichannel suite priced on emails sent, free to start, €7 a month from 5,000 emails, with automation from the €15 Standard plan.

Brevo, formerly Sendinblue, is a French company (Sendinblue SAS, Paris) selling a marketing suite: email, SMS, WhatsApp, web and mobile push, live chat, a chatbot, a sales CRM and a loyalty programme. Pricing is by email volume rather than contacts. On monthly billing: a free plan with no card; Starter from €7 a month at 5,000 emails, rising to €35 at 30,000, with a contact cap on the low steps (500 contacts at the 5,000-email step) and no automation; Standard from €15 a month at 5,000 emails with marketing automation, A/B testing, send-time optimisation and one landing page; and Professional at €499 a month from 150,000 emails with ten seats, WhatsApp, push and contact scoring. Yearly billing saves 10 percent.

Two things to price in. The volume slider has no 25,000-email step, so the reference scenario lands on 30,000. And automation is a Standard feature, not a Starter one, so the €7 headline is a campaign tool and the lifecycle logic starts at €15. Transactional email over SMTP and API is included, with SMS credits sold separately.

The privacy policy places the company in Paris with operations in the EU and the United States; the pricing page does not state a hosting region, so it is listed here as not stated.

Who Brevo suits, and who it does not

Brevo suits a business that wants SMS or WhatsApp in the same journeys as email, or that sends few emails to a large list and so benefits from volume pricing. It is a broad suite and a mature one.

It does not suit a developer-led SaaS that wants a tight contact-and-event model and an API-first workflow; it is built for marketers first. And the Starter plan is not a lifecycle tool at all, so compare against Standard.

The Loops limit you are escaping

The contact count, and the single channel. Loops bills per subscribed contact; Brevo bills per email, so a large quiet list is cheap. Loops is email only; Brevo puts SMS and WhatsApp on the same automation canvas.

The free tier shape is different rather than better: Brevo's free plan is a daily send limit rather than a contact ceiling, which suits a product that mails rarely.

What migrating from Loops actually involves

Contacts come in by CSV or API into lists, with attributes standing in for Loops's properties. Rebuild loops as Standard-plan automations and wire your transactional sends to the SMTP relay or API.

Start on Standard, not Starter, for the trial of the lifecycle side; Starter has no automation, and evaluating it for that job wastes the trial.

Starting price
€7/mo (Starter, 5,000 emails); automation from €15/mo on Standard
Billed on
Emails per month in volume steps, with a contact cap per step on Starter
Free plan or trial
Free plan, no card
Standout
Email, SMS, WhatsApp, push and chat from one suite, priced on volume

10. Best for newsletter teams that want the biggest template and integration catalogue: Mailchimp

Mailchimp

The incumbent: $100 a month on Standard at 5,000 contacts, with sends capped at twelve times the contact count and the whole audience billed, unsubscribes included.

Mailchimp is on this list because it is on every list, and because a share of Loops users came from it and are weighing going back. In USD: a free plan under 250 contacts with 500 sends a month; Essentials from $13 a month at 500 contacts and $75 at 5,000, with sends capped at ten times the contact count and four steps per automation flow; Standard from $20 at 500, $100 at 2,501 to 5,000 and $135 at 5,001 to 10,000, with twelve times the contacts in sends and up to 200 flow points; and Premium at $350 for 5,000 with fifteen times and unlimited audiences. There is a 14-day trial of Standard.

The billing unit is the thing to understand: Mailchimp counts your total audience, including contacts who have unsubscribed, which is the opposite of Loops's subscribed-only rule and of SendHeron's. A list with a long history of opt-outs pays for all of them unless you archive them. Servers are in the United States and there is no EU hosting option.

What you get for the money is scale and breadth: the largest template and integration catalogue in the category, generative AI features, multi-audience management, and a product that every contractor and agency already knows.

Who Mailchimp suits, and who it does not

Mailchimp suits a marketing team whose email is mostly campaigns and newsletters, that values the ecosystem, and that is likely to hire people who already know the tool. Above 250,000 contacts its bands keep going where several tools on this page stop.

It does not suit a SaaS that wants lifecycle sequences triggered by product events with real branching, or that cares about a residency answer, or that has accumulated unsubscribes it does not want to pay for. That is three of the reasons people left it for Loops in the first place.

The Loops limit you are escaping

Very little, on the axes that made you pick Loops. Standard at 5,000 contacts is twice Loops's $49, the sends are capped where Loops's are not, the automation is flow-point-limited where Loops's is not, and the hosting is the same country. The honest reason to go back is the ecosystem, not the product.

The one thing Loops cannot match is the audience size ceiling and the catalogue. If you need forty integrations and a template for everything, Mailchimp has them.

What migrating from Loops actually involves

Import contacts by CSV into an audience, and archive rather than import your unsubscribes so they are not billed. Rebuild loops as Customer Journeys, keeping the flow-point cap on Standard in mind.

Check the contact band before you commit: at 5,001 contacts you cross into the $135 band, so a list sitting just above a boundary should be cleaned before the first invoice.

Starting price
$13/mo (Essentials, 500 contacts); Standard $100 at 5,000
Billed on
Total audience including unsubscribed contacts, in bands, with a send cap per plan
Free plan or trial
Free plan under 250 contacts; 14-day trial of Standard
Standout
The largest template and integration catalogue in the category

How we evaluated

We compared every tool against Loops on five things that matter to a SaaS team looking for an alternative: the bill at 5,000 subscribed contacts sending 25,000 emails a month on monthly billing, what the bill is calculated on, whether there is a free plan or a trial, where the data is hosted, and whether lifecycle automation (triggers, delays, branches) is included at that price. Every figure comes from the vendor's own pricing page.

Resend is the one transactional API on the list, because its marketing product makes it a real alternative and its free tier is the honest place to say where SendHeron loses on price.

Each entry names where the tool is the wrong choice, including our own. SendHeron's entry says it has no free plan, no push or SMS, no client logins and no tier above 200,000 contacts, because a comparison that only lists the other side's gaps is an advertisement.

How to choose the right alternative

Start with the constraint that made you open this page. If it is residency, the shortlist is SendHeron (EU company, data in Germany), Customer.io (US or EU data center on every plan), MailerLite (EU data storage) and Plunk (EU-hosted, or your own server), and EmailOctopus if a newsletter tool would do. Loops, Userlist, Mailchimp and Resend all keep contact data in the United States, and Bento, Brevo and Sequenzy do not state a region on their pricing pages.

If it is price at 5,000 contacts, the order is Bento at $29, then SendHeron at €19 (whose Starter runs to 10,000 contacts), then Sequenzy at $29 and Plunk at $25 for the same email volume, then Loops itself at $49, MailerLite at $49 or $69, Resend at $60 across two subscriptions, Mailchimp at $100, Customer.io at $100 and Userlist at $149. Below 1,000 contacts Resend and Loops are free and nothing beats free.

If it is the lifecycle logic, decide whether you want it drafted or want to design it. SendHeron drafts the suite from your website and you approve it; Customer.io, Loops and Userlist give you the deepest builders to design it yourself; MailerLite, Brevo and Mailchimp have builders that were made for campaigns first. If it is channels, only Customer.io has push, in-app, SMS and WhatsApp together; Brevo has SMS and WhatsApp; Userlist has in-app; the rest are email.

If it is a big list that rarely sends, stop paying per contact: Sequenzy, Plunk and Brevo bill on volume, and the arithmetic at 25,000 contacts mailing monthly is $29 or less against Loops's $199. If it is heavy sending to a small list, do the opposite and keep contact pricing with unlimited sends, which is Loops's own model and MailerLite Power's.

The pricing page sets SendHeron against other lifecycle platforms and transactional APIs in one table at the same scenario, and the features pages describe what each SendHeron capability does and does not do.

Moving over is the easy part

Contacts move in one file. Export your list from Loops and upload it in the dashboard as it is: the import recognises Loops's export, fills in the mapping, brings across the names and tags it carries and checks every subscribed address on the way in, with a report of anything it refused and why. The migration guide has the export steps. For a sync job that keeps your own database in step, upsert each contact with PUT /contacts instead, which the Node SDK wraps.

Unsubscribes come across in the same file, so nobody who opted out of Loops's mail hears from you by accident: anyone the export marks as unsubscribed comes in unsubscribed and gets no marketing email. An address the file does not hold can still be suppressed with POST /suppressions, and any send to it is refused with a stable reason you can read back.

Templates are portable if they are HTML. Paste them in and keep editing them as HTML, or rebuild them in the block builder, and a block template converts back to HTML whenever you want it to. Sequences have to be rebuilt, because no two tools model branching the same way. That is the part the AI setup is for: paste your website URL and it drafts a lifecycle suite, tag schema included, as drafts you edit and activate one at a time. We help you map Loops's flows onto it during onboarding.

Frequently asked questions

Further reading

Vendor names and logos are trademarks of their owners, shown to identify the products compared. Live pricing drifts, so confirm on each vendor's site before you commit.

Free trial

Bring your Loops list. Keep the parts of it you like.

Your contacts come in from your export file, templates paste in as HTML, and the setup drafts the sequences from your website. You activate what you want, one at a time.

7-day free trial. Pick a plan, add a card, cancel before the trial ends and you won't be charged. 1,000 contacts and 5,000 sends during the trial.